swipe to turn pages 

2019 Weir Rose Tournament

with Franklin United F.C.

The Weir Rose Bowl began in the 1950s as a competition for U-12 boys, with the WRB trophy donated by Tom Weir, a member of the Junior Management Committee of Auckland Football. The event is viewed as an important step in the development of aspiring young footballers, giving them their first taste of regional football.

After the formation of the Federations in 2000, the WRB evolved into a format where Northern Football, Auckland Football and WaiBOP Football Federations selected their best U-12 male & female players to compete. In recognition of the establishment of NZF Skills Centres at clubs, the format of the Weir Rose Bowl has changed to allow ‘approved’ clubs to enter teams in 2019. From within the AFF Region, the only clubs approved to attend are those operating Accredited Skills Centre programmes.

This year, Franklin United FC joined with Beachlands Maraetai AFC, Manurewa AFC and Papakura City FC and were represented by three teams in the competition.

The teams, two mixed/boys teams, and one girls played in their own strip designed by our very own Ben Fletcher and represented the region well against tough competition.


Girls Team

  • 5 games: 3W, 2L
  • 4th from 10 teams.

Boys Red Team

  • 6 games: 1W, 2D, 3L
  • 18th from 20 teams

Boys Blue Team

  • 6 games: 3W, 3L
  • 4th from 20 teams

click to share!

or copy this link:


continue reading…

elocal Digital Edition – November 2019 (#224)

elocal Digital Edition
November 2019 (#224)